top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDawn Friedel

Technology in Daily Life

Updated: Dec 10, 2018

Millennial learners utilizes technology to kindle learning by aiding in the search to find information, filtering through the results, and blending the details from various sources and mediums to assimilate facts and form new ideas (Dede, 2005).  Universities that offer distance education, like Walden and East Carolina, are prime examples of this learning style in an educational environment. 

Advances in technology and the prevalence of its use in daily life demands that I keep up with constant changes and even evolving models and features of smartphones, computers, and various other devices.  Computers are being integrated into appliances, vehicles, houses, and the list goes on.  As a digital immigrant (not born in the digital age), I am one who embraces technology and the aid it offers. (Prensky, 2001).  However, I do see a concern in becoming too dependent upon it.  An example of this, happened recently at a restaurant when a friend of mine wanted to pay cash for her meal.  The wait staff were obviously ill equipped to deal with this.  They had become so dependent upon and expectant of the customer paying by credit card, that I was able to process my check (which I charged) in under 5 minutes., while my friend had to wait 15 minutes for the staff as they struggled to make change.

I do rely on certain technologies, like my smartphone to aid in much of my daily routine.  My phone houses the majority of my mp3s, which I stream through my car stereo when I commute to and from work. It has a camera that I use to capture pictures for personal as well as business use. It allows me to stay connected to friends and family through text, phone, and social media.  I use the Internet to look up information and find answers to random questions that come up during the course of conversations or business meeting. I track my food intake and exercise using the Weight Watchers application and when I travel I use it as an alarm clock. So I would say I freely use technology and it has had a profound impact on many aspects of my life.

When it comes to education, I also rely on technology.  I tried to attend a tradition college, but had a hard time making it class on time, due to traffic and work constraints.  I was forced to withdraw and put my education on hold, until I found an online university that offered a distant education program in my desired field of study. Now I have completed my Bachelor’s Degree in Instructional Design and Technology and am well on way to completing my Masters in Instructional Technology.

As a lifetime learner, I rely on my computer, the Internet, and the World Wide Web to register for classes, gain access to learning materials, interact with fellow students and professors, complete and deliver assignments, and even manage my tuition. As a digital immigrant I embrace technology and take full advantage of the benefits it offers me.  I welcome advances in technology and am often amazed that it can continue to evolve at such a rapid rate.

References

Dede, C. (2005). Planning for neomillennial learning styles. Educause Quarterly1, 7–12.


Prensky, M. (2001). Digital natives, digital immigrants. On the Horizon, 9(5).


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Which learning technology to use?

Technology is continually evolving and influencing the way in which people learn.  However, just because technology is new and exciting doesn’t mean it is appropriate for use in all learning situat

Technology Prioritization

Key Technologies When it comes to technology there have been many innovations that have revolutionized the way people live, from early writing to more recent transportation and even modern day commu

bottom of page